bracelets and a break

saturday, february 3, 2024

i've been avoiding my bear blog lately because i've been feeling like i have to think of something blog post-worthy to write about... and it's not that i haven't had any big thoughts lately, but i'm going through a period where i just don't feel like sharing those deeper ponderings, or even entertaining them for too long. they're things i more want to talk to trusted friends and family about in real life, or distract myself from, or just quietly address on my own. i've realized i do a lot of blabbering and complaining when i could honestly just sit down and do the work and get it over with.

so that's what i've been trying to do these days – complain less about my creaky body and my homework and being a hermit and all the stuff i have coming up, and just tackle them one at a time. i've been trying to stretch more, sit down and focus, make more of an effort to go out, organize my task list. it's HARD but not insurmountable, and certainly less difficult than if i just sat here griping and not trying to tackle these things. i think there just comes a point where you become tired of your own bullshit LOL. i'm glad i've reached that point, at least for now!!

instead all i wanna talk about is fun and frivolous, which is more suited for my site, so here we are writing a diary entry babey.

in preparation for seeing miss taylor very soon, our Concert Squad spent a night making friendship bracelets. i hadn't done this since i was a kid (and i don't think i did it very often either?) but found myself really getting in the zone. the next day, my sister and i spent the afternoon making bracelets AGAIN. i made a grand total of 35 bracelets over 3 days, inclusive of four custom bracelets for friends... it was so addicting. it consumed my waking hours.

(i made bracelets for my current two blorbos too.)

there's something so nice about a hobby that involves working with your hands and not looking at a screen! i'd like to do it more, except that i'll have to keep finding people to give them to + spending money to buy beads lmfao. i'll put pics of my taylor-related bracelets at the bottom of this post.

i have quite a bit coming up: comic deadline, concert, Big Girl Job Stuff, etc... so i'm anticipating i won't be able to work on my website for a month or so! i've never announced a break before and would just fuck off willy nilly LMAO but!!!! i know i'm going to want to jump in and fiddle with things if i don't use something like an announced break to keep me away from procrastinating via spending hours on a new page or something.

so i'll put myself on Real Life Mode for a month and a half, or maybe two, just so i can get used to the amount of work i have to do. i'll probably come in and do smaller updates like askbox replies or blorbo updates if i have any, and of course i want to at least make a post or do something for my upcoming site anniversary (feb. 11th)!!!!!

i'm not totally offline of course, but barring myself from pursuing immersive hobbies until i get a significant amount of work done, bc i know i have no self control LOL. so i'll report back in a month re: how that's worked out!

some other stuff:

here are the bracelets, as promised. photographed on my beaten up dirty ipad, sorry.